top of page

Waiting in the Quarantine





Lets start with a joke.


You know I once talked my way out of speeding ticket?


I was heading to my parents’ house doing like 90 on this country road and I got pulled over. So, this cop gets out of his car. He kind of swaggers on over and he says, “Young lady, I have been waiting for you all day.”


So, I looked up at him and I said “I am so sorry, Officer. I got here as fast as I could.”

-How I Met Your Mother

When I saw this scene earlier this week it really spoke to, truly almost had me in tears. The waiting, my singlehood during these last couple of days have been hard. When I say MY singlehood, it is because it is something I choose to do, it is something I take ownership of and everyones looks different. Some people really might enjoy it most of the time (I like to think I am one of those people). Others might be on the prowl all the time waiting for anyone that meets bare minimum to give a chance, because the thought of being alone FOREVER is scary. I get it I do but is it better to be single forever or settle?

I wanted to tell you sistas today that during this quarantine life do not feel/ be persuaded that maybe settling is ok. Settling looks different for everyone depending on the standards or the MUST HAVES you have set for the potential love interest in your life. No, I would not say standards like must be this height, must worship this passionate or must makes this amount of money are considered settling. But, things of character like relationship with God, someone you trust to lead and someone that you just click with are things you can not settle on. Things I urge you not to settle on because if things you hold close, things that shape your character are being compromised not only are you lowering your standards but your lowering yourself. Instead of staying true to yourself you are changing yourself for some guy. Change is good don’t get me wrong but not when it causes you to shift your foundation. Not when it is causing you to shift on everything you hold as your truth.

So yes, you will get bored of crafting and binge-watching shows but DON’T SETTLE. Your ex or someone from your past you know is never going to make the cut might hit you up, but DON’T SETTLE. You will start to feel lonely, more than once, but DON’T SETTLE. Your friends will start pursing relationships with guys and you will get all in your feelings about it, but DON’T SETTLE. Because if there is a silver of chance that there is a guy, out there in this big old world, that will meet your MUST HAVES, and more don’t you want to be around for that? Don’t you want the best possible “Happily Ever After” for yourself? Doesn’t that make the waiting seem maybe worth it after all?

I know that you’re tired of waiting, and you may have to wait a little more, but he is on his way and he is getting to you as fast as he can.

-How I Met Your Mother

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page