top of page

Doula Bag and Funds

Updated: Apr 3, 2020



When I first set my sights on getting doula certificated nothing could stop me; that's how bad I wanted it. So I saved up all the money for training and made it happen. I read all the books, watched all the classes and did all the assignments.... I was all in. Once everything was completely I went to my in person training. I made so many doula friends and soaked up all the knowledge they had to offer. When the teacher brought out her doula bag I tried to write every tool down because she was/is a successful doula; I wanted to be just like her.



After the training I was ready to start my business yesterday, but I didn't have the tools I thought I need to serve my clients... Which is funny because my first birth I had nothing (but that's a story for another day 😉). In my life I was currently working and paying bills with every paycheck... I couldn't see a way to start so I put it on pause. At the same time my roommate who was transitioning to doing campus ministry was support raising. That's when I had the thought 'If she can do it for campus ministry I could do it for my doula bag' right???



I drafted a budget for everything I needed and started calling up everyone and anyone that I thought would be willing to help. I told them my dreams/goals and they fueled my fire with funds. My friends gave, my family gave and others that were unexpected. It was wild to see people believe in my dream and believe in what God has called me to do. There was no return on the investment there was just a knowing that they helped out a friend, helped a mom laboring have support; the knowing that they were going to be apart of changing the birth narrative was enough for them.



Sure I could have slowly built up my bag over time and eventually made the step to put myself out there but I think this approach grew me and pushed me on all fronts. I had to get used to sharing my truth about birth and how I could help (sound familiar? Like a client consult maybe?). I got asked questions that grew my doula knowledge..... like can I take insurance? What is a doula? What's in your bag? But it also fueled my confidence as a doula and pushed me to grow my business as much as possible, not just for me but for others who said here is my money, I believe in you!



So I cherish my bag because many hands helped put it together. I cherish my bag because it's God saying 'Yes I have called you to this'. Not only did I get what I needed but also what I wanted. I didn't have to compromise because God doesn't just provide what you need but what you want. I got my fun uterus backpack, a dope rebozo and all the things we doulas could possibly use at a birth! I got my dream bag ♥️

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page